In Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Northamptonshire, Rutland, and Leistershire, Great Britain, the subdivision of the shire, with its own court. Probably Scandinavian in origin. It corresponded to the hundred in shires to the south. Though territorial, it is a political division, not a unit of land area.

Sorry. No information on contributors is available for this page.

home | units index | search |  contact drawing of envelope |  contributors | 
help | privacy | terms of use