In Kumaon and Garwhal, India, 19ᵗʰ century, a variable unit of land area. In Kumaon a jhúla might contain 3, 6, 9 or 12 bísís. In Garwhal, the jhúla was sized in dhons, not bísís, and the number of dhons it contained and its full name (e.g., jhúla kotkarki) varied by the status of the landholder. See source 1 below. Also spelled joola.



In Gerhwal, the only denomination in use is the jhúla, which is divided into chukris or 4ths, and anas, or 16ths: it varied in its extent, according to the description of person holding the land, as will be seen in the following detail:—

Jhúla Thakuralí, (chiefs,) = 16 Dhons.

Ditto Thaní, (principal landholders,) = 12 ditto.

Ditto Rowlía, (padhan mokuddem,) = 8 ditto.

Ditto Chakar, (tenantry,) = 4 ditto.

Ditto Tyargaín, (temporary cultivators,) = 16 ditto.

Ditto Umraí, (courtiers,) = 8 ditto.

Ditto Kotkarkí, (militia,) = 12 ditto.

Ditto Tob, (regular troops,) = 10 ditto.

Ditto Kotya, (followers,) = 6 ditto.

Ditto Topchi, (huntsmen,) = 4 ditto.

Ditto Seuk, (personal servants,) = 4 ditto.

Ditto Jaghirdar, (rent-free to private individuals,) = 12 ditto.

George William Traill.
Statistical Report of Kumaon.
J. H. Batten, editor.
Official Reports of the Province of Kumaon.
Agra: Printed at the Secundra Orphan Press, 1851.
Page 35. This essay also appeared in Asiatic Researches, vol. XVI, but the page reference is to the book.

Sorry. No information on contributors is available for this page.

home | units index  | search |  contact drawing of envelope |  contributors | 
help | privacy | terms of use