Canonical Hours

To structure devotions, the Catholic Church divided the day into 7 parts:

Offices Time
Matins and Lauds From midnight until Prime.
Prime From 6 a.m. to Tierce.

“If the office of Lauds be finished by daybreak, as is fit, let them begin Prime; if not, let them wait for daylight.”

Tierce From 9 a.m. to Sext
Sext From noon to None.
None 2 or 3 p.m. to Vespers.
Vespers From 4 p.m. to Compline.
Compline About 7 p.m.

home | time index | search |  contact drawing of envelope |  contributors | 
help | privacy | terms of use