motion picture ratings

The practice of rating motion pictures in terms of their suitability for various audiences first began abroad. In the United Kingdom, ratings are assigned by the British Board of Film Censors.

U Universal admission.
A Parental discretion advised.
X Youngsters under 16 not admitted.

On July 1, 1970, the categories were changed to:

U Universal admission.
A Parental discretion advised.
AA Youngsters under 14 not admitted
X Persons under 18 not admitted.

In the United States, ratings were first introduced in 1968. Ratings are assigned by a private organization, the Classification and Rating Administration of the Motion Picture Assn. of America. Rating is not mandated by law, but although the system is entirely voluntary, most producers submit their films to be rated.

G General audience, anyone admitted.
PG Parental guidance. Some material may not be suitable for a child under 13. When the system was first introduced this category was called “M.” In February 1970 the name was changed to “GP,” and then in 1972 to “PG.”
PG-13 Parents are strongly cautioned. Some material may not be suitable for children under 13.
R Persons under 17 admitted only if accompanied by a parent or adult guardian.
NC-17 No one under 17 is admitted. This category was formerly called “X.”

Ratings of individual films, and information on the U. S. rating system, is available at

home| media index| search| to contact Sizes drawing of envelope| acknowledgements| help|


terms of use